Cinnamon Oat – Two Attempts

When I saw that Kodiak Cakes had a Cinnamon Oat flavor, I was so excited. I LOVE cinnamon. I love adding it to pancakes, muffins, waffles, everything. The only downside [which I discovered AFTER I’d used the mix] is that the flavor is the highest in smart points. Regardless, it was delicious. But I went back and tried to recreate the same thing with lower sugar. Just as tasty, if not more so. I also created a salted caramel “glaze” to drizzle over these bad boys. [insert yum sounds]. Recipes below!

Original Cinnamon Oat Crunch Waffles
Makes 2 large waffles – 9 SmartPoints

1/2 cup Kodiak Cakes Protein Packed Cinnamon Oat Flapjack & Waffle Mix
1 scoop Quest Nutrition Cinnamon Crunch Protein Powder
1-2 tablespoons Egg Beaters
Water

My Version of Cinnamon Oat Crunch Waffles
Makes 2 large waffles – 7 SmartPoints

1/2 cup Kodiak Cakes Protein Packed Buttermilk Flapjack & Waffle Mix
1-2 teaspoons Cinnamon
1/2 scoop Quest Nutrition Multipurpose Protein Powder
1/2 scoop Quest Nutrition Salted Caramel Protein Powder
1-2 tablespoons Egg Beaters
1/8 cup Old Fashioned Oats
Water

Caramel Sauce Recipe
One serving – 1 SmartPoint

1/2 scoop Quest Nutrition Vanilla Milkshake Protein Powder
1/2 scoop Quest Nutrition Salted Caramel Protein Powder
1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
Water

I recommend smothering these in butter and syrup. Or butter and a drizzle of caramel sauce. [The sauce has a lot of flavor, I dipped my bites to keep it light.] Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

