Dark Chocolate vs. Bananas Foster

I ♥ Chocolate and I ♥ Banana. So this was promising from go.

Unfortunately, the dark chocolate won the match. By a lot. I like my waffles sans maple syrup [I know, HOW DULL] so I can’t rely on that sweetness to save the flavor. The bananas foster was bland…definitely didn’t hold up on its own. If you love syrup on your waffles, then you might love this. With some lower calorie syrup, this could rock. I liked the oatmeal in the batter, so I might try this trick with another flavor sometime.

As for the dark chocolate, I sprinkled them with stevia, but I wouldn’t recommend it. Stevia isn’t just like sugar, as much as I’d like to lie to myself. I’m thinking whip cream or marshmallow would be fun to add to this, but it held up on its own… if you actually like dark chocolate. These weren’t super sweet by any means, but I liked that. The kodiak cakes mix had chocolate chips in it, so I was ALL over this one. It’s a miracle I remembered to take a picture before I shoved it in my mouth. Okay, I’ll shut up and put up the recipes.

Bananas Foster Waffle
1 Scoop Devotion Nutrition Angel Food Protein Powder
1/4 cup Oatmeal [I used old fashioned oats]
2 Tbsp Egg Beaters [Original]
1 Devotion Nutrition Bananas Foster Flex Flavor
1/2 tsp Baking Powder
Water [1/4 cupish]

Makes 1 big waffle (4 SmartPoints) per batch

Dark Chocolate Waffle
1 Scoop Quest Protein Multipurpose Powder
1/4 cup Kodiak Cakes Dark Chocolate Pancake Mix
1 Tbsp Hershey’s Special Dark Chocolate Cocoa Powder
2 Tbsp Egg Beaters [Original]
2[ish] Tablespoons of Stevia in the Raw
Water [1/2 cupish]

Makes 1 big waffle (4 SmartPoints) per batch

Happy Eating!

Leave a Reply

